Stop being used

There’s an interesting post by Josh Bernoff about the way tech companies refer to their customers as users.

And it dawned on me that if I’m a user then I’m probably being used.

I guess that’s somewhat implicit in the symbiotic producer/customer relationship. However, if we, the users, can fully understand the situation then presumably we can stop being so used (upsold) and make more informed choices.

On the other hand I also agree with the Elephant Man who so eloquently proclaimed, ‘I am not an animal! I am a human being! I am…a man!’

Leave a Reply

