Stuck in NYC

I was heading back to Toronto from a day of meetings in Manhattan when my plane was cancelled at the airport (all Air Canada flights to Toronto, actually). And I found myself stranded overnight in NYC.

An adventure, to be sure, but not as exciting as I might have imagined. First there was the hubbub at the airport, the line-up to find out what flight we were now on, the taxi ride back to the city, the calls to (hopefully) get a hotel room, an alternate booking with another airline, emails/calls explaining what happened and then arranging an early wake-up to go to the airport again.

But back to the announcement. Folks at LaGuardia were flipping out and I could relate to their frustration (remembering an incident with the now defunct People Express airlines long ago). But this time I decided to accept my predicament and even laugh about it. Why get all hot under the collar (as we so often do) when you find yourself in a situation where you have absolutely no control?

Sometimes it’s better to just go with the flow…

One thought on “Stuck in NYC

  1. Ah no. I’m sorry to hear you got stuck yesterday… what a pain although I suppose there are worse cities to be stuck in. Hope you got in safe today and looking forward to our next Skale/Scale meeting 🙂

Leave a Reply

